Badass of the Day

25 Jul

Tony Appleton, the town crier who announced the birth of the Prince of Cambridge outside St. Mary’s Hospital in London.

Best… news… ever: It turns out he was simply a great British eccentric acting all by himself. No royal seal of approval. He just rolled up in a cab, stood in front of the steps (because he didn’t think he’d be allowed on them) and cried away. I LOVE THIS SO MUCH. I might need to send him fan mail. This story makes me giddy with happiness! I love an eccentric more than many things. 

‘I’m a royalist. I love the royal family,’ he told the Daily Mail, but he acknowledged he had no official royal role. ‘I came unannounced.’

P.S. As a proud member of Team George, I’m royally pleased with the wee Prince’s name.

Leave a Reply

